2009 Round Up

I just lost my way with the blog this year. Fortunately, I didn’t lose my way with the running, but getting to the computer to write was something that got on top of me. Although this wasn’t just with my running blog – my book blog suffered as well (something I am very disappointed about as there were books I have read which I haven’t recorded). But the thing about life is that when something seems to go wrong, you just have to pick yourself back up and try again. This is actually far more relevant to me this year than simply relating to my running blog. But then that is another story.

Anyway, I achieved 3 marathons this year – two short of the five I had hoped but I simply ran out of energy by the time I did my third and knew I couldn’t push it to do a couple more.

I ran the Edinburgh Marathon in May under rather difficult circumstances. I was tired and distracted and it was incredibly hot (yes, believe it or not, it was baking hot in Scotland). My time was just over 4 hours – 4:08.33 to be exact. Not at all shabby considering how badly sunburnt I was when I crossed the finish line.

I then ran what is now my new favourite marathon – Guernsey. It is my favourite not just because of the route and the organisation, but the Island of Guernsey is one of the most beautiful, friendly and wonderful places I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. I can’t wait to go back. I finished smiling in 4:05.07, placed 77th out of 164 finishers. I still think back fondly of that race (despite my usual wall and the usual 20 mile agony). I am already planning 2010.

So, the plans for the new year are London again, hopefully Guernsey and then at least one other. I am looking to do an ultra marathon at some stage in the future. Whether it ends up being 2010 I don’t know. The time has come  to set some achievable goals and then see if I can exceed them, rather than making it too hard for myself.

2 responses to “2009 Round Up

  1. tnx for the report — congrats on the marathons, and best of luck in all your 2010 runs! (^_^)

  2. good to have you back Tiger!

Leave a Reply

